Northsiders star as Queensland grabs hockey crown

By on April 16, 2014
Kedron-Wavell goal scorer Savannah Fitzpatrick runs away from Commercial's Ally Boland-Brough. Photo by Husted Images

Kedron-Wavell goal scorer Savannah Fitzpatrick runs away from Commercial’s Ally Boland-Brough. Photo by Husted Images

Savannah Fitzpatrick, Candice Champion and Jasmine Larosa scored goals as Kedron-Wavell beat the bottom-placed Cobras 3-2 at the State Hockey Centre.

Kedron-Wavell’s men’s team lost its Brisbane Hockey League clash against Commercial 8-0.

For more great Brisbane hockey photos visit

Meanwhile, five local players have helped Queensland reaffirm its standing as Australia’s premier hockey state.

Chermside resident Danny Fletcher and Kedron local Adam Battams helped Queensland win the Australian Under 18 men’s championship in Canberra on Saturday.

A second half scoring blitz saw Queensland beat New South Wales 8-2 in the final, after scores were tied 2-2 at halftime.

Kedron-Wavell Hockey Club trio Britt Wilkinson, Morgan Gallagher and Hannah Lowry were members of the Queensland Under 18 women’s team than beat New South Wales 5-2 in its national championship final in Melbourne.

Queensland now holds the national titles in the Australian Hockey League (open seniors), Under 21 and Under 18 age groups for both men and women.

Kedron-Wavell’s Ayrton Coolwell played for Northern Territory at the national titles.

Report by the Brisbane Hockey Association.

About Staff Writer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

four × five =